What is the Texas Concealed Carry Handgun License Class Like?

Texas is big on concealed handgun licenses. Many people are taking the required class to get their concealed handgun license (CHL). The class is a 10 hour course. Most instructors stress that they are not going to teach you to operate a firearm there and you should already be familiar with the operation of your weapon before you take the class. Usually the first 30 minutes to 60 minutes are spent on the firing range. You will need 50 rounds of ammo (range grade full metal jacket with brass casing).

You will shoot at the B-27 target. Course of fire is as follows:

3 yards, 20 rounds

  • 1 shot in 2 seconds, 5 times
  • 2 shots in 3 seconds, 5 times
  • 5 shots in 10 seconds, 1 time

7 yards, 20 rounds

  • 5 shots in 10 seconds, 1 time
  • 2 shots in 4 seconds, 1 time
  • 3 shots in 6 seconds, 1 time
  • 1 shot in 3 seconds, 5 times
  • 5 shots in 15 seconds, 1 time

15 yards, 10 rounds

  • 2 shots in 6 seconds, 1 time
  • 3 shots in 9 seconds, 1 time
  • 5 shots in 15 seconds, 1 time

A perfect score is 250 out of 250 points. Anywhere inside the 8 circle is 5 points. Hits in the 7 circle are 4 points. Hits outside the 7 but still on the silhouette are 3 points. Hits out of the silhouette are zero points. A score of 175 is needed to pass. The B-27 target comes in black, blue, green, and orange.

Once you shoot and pass you will go to the classroom portion. Bring a pen and paper and take notes because your instructor will probably give you hints at what will be on the test. You’re going to learn the Texas Concealed Handgun Laws, the Safe Motorist Act, where you can and cannot carry, and the consequences of discharging your firearm (YOU WILL BE SUED NO MATTER HOW IN THE RIGHT YOU WERE). Somebody will probably try to sell you some pre-paid legal insurance while you are at the class.

Do yourself a favor and ask plenty of questions.

Ask what the best personal defense ammo is.

Ask what the best concealed carry pistol and caliber is.

Ask what the best home defense shotgun load is.

Ask if you should use a shotgun for home defense or a pistol for home defense.

Ask what the best holster is for concealed carry.

Ask how to clear a Failure to Fire (FTF) or a Failure to Eject (FTE).

 

Of course the liberals got their hand in this pie and you are going to spend about 3 or 4 hours on some touch feely stuff (your inner Parent, Adult, and Child self). You will talk about how to use non-violent means to de-escalate an encounter. You will learn that it is always faster to act than react. All of this is good info that you should take note of.

At the end of the class you will take a 50 question multiple choice exam that the instructor will probably ensure you do not fail. What you need to realize is that this is just the beginning. This is nothing more than a license to begin learning about firearms and their safe operation. Just because you managed to obtain your CHL does not mean you are a proficient operator. You need to find some gun safety classes, and other courses to improve your skill level and gun intelligence.